Founded in 1980

Parishes and Townships in the Archdeaconry of Doncaster 1914

The Anglican Diocese of Sheffield was formed in 1914 and is divided into two archdeaconries, the archdeaconry of Sheffield and the archdeaconry of Doncaster.

The Archdeaconry of Doncaster

The original archdeaconry was divided into five deaneries:

  • Adwick le Street
  • Doncaster
  • Snaith and Hatfield
  • Wath
  • West Doncaster

and that is the area covered by the Doncaster and District Family History Society. The deanery of Tankersley has since been added, but is not covered by the Society.

Nearly all of the villages in the Doncaster archdeaconry can trace their origins back to an Anglo-Saxon or Viking past as evidenced by their place-names. Their medieval churches, altered through the centuries, display a variety of work in the Anglo-Saxon, Norman, Early English, Decorated, and Perpendicular styles.

Deaneries and Places

Adwick le Street

The deanery comprises eleven parishes four of which are relatively new and once again created to meet the needs of expanding settlements from the late nineteenth century.

  • Adwick le Street
  • Arksey with Bentley
  • Burghwallis
  • Campsall
  • Owston
  • Skelbrooke and
  • Sprotbrough

The new parishes are:

  • Askern
  • Bentley
  • New Bentley
  • Woodlands


The deanery comprises twelve parishes seven of which are relatively new and were created to meet the needs of the growing population of Doncaster. The earliest of these new parishes was Wheatley St Mary, completed in 1885.

The ancient parishes are:

  • Armthorpe
  • Barnby Dun
  • Cantley
  • Doncaster Christ Church
  • Doncaster St George
  • Kirk Sandall

Snaith and Hatfield

The deanery can be split into two.

Whose parishes are in the present Doncaster Metropolitan Borough.

The ancient parishes are:

  • Fishlake
  • Hatfield
  • Thorne
  • Kirk Bramwith

The new parishes are:

  • Dunscroft and Stainforth
  • Moss
  • Sykehouse

The ancient parishes are:

  • Adlingfleet
  • Snaith and Whitgift

The new parishes are:

  • Airmyn
  • Cowick
  • Eastoft
  • Goole
  • Hensall
  • Hook
  • Pollington
  • Rawcliffe
  • Swinefleet


The deanery comprises twenty one parishes altogether and thirteen of them are ancient parishes. The eight other parishes have been created since 1800 from the two ancient parishes of Darfield and Wath upon Dearne.

The ancient parishes are:

  • Adwick upon Dearne
  • Bolton upon Dearne
  • Brodsworth
  • Darfield
  • Frickley with Clayton
  • Hickleton
  • High Melton
  • Hooton Pagnell
  • Marr
  • Mexborough
  • Thurnscoe
  • Wath upon Dearne
  • Wentworth

The new parishes are:

  • Ardsley
  • Brampton Bierlow
  • Denaby
  • Goldthorpe
  • Jump
  • Kilnhurst
  • Swinton
  • Wombwell

West Doncaster

The deanery comprises nine ancient parishes:

  • Braithwell
  • Conisbrough
  • Edlington(Old)
  • Loversall
  • Rossington
  • Stainton
  • Tickhill
  • Wadworth
  • Warmsworth

The ancient parishes of Austerfield, Bawtry and Finningley are now in Doncaster Doncaster Metropolitan Borough Council and although Austerfield and Bawtry are still in the diocese of Southwell, Finningley is now in the archdeaconry of Doncaster.